Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

States with the Strictest Auto Insurance Rules

When it comes to laws and regulations concerning auto insurance, each state has different rules and goes about enforcement differently. However, some states are a little stricter than others when it comes to auto insurance rules – i.e., many have harsh penalties for disobeying the auto insurance laws for the state. Let’s take a look at a few of the states that have some of the most onerous auto insurance rules, as well as the penalties that will be enforced in these states for not following the state insurance laws.

The state of Maryland is one of the strictest states regarding auto insurance. Maryland requires more than most states for minimum auto insurance as this state requires that auto insurers and drivers are also required to carry PIP, also known as personal injury protection, as well as uninsured motorist protection. The main reason for this is because of traffic congestion around Washington D.C. and Baltimore. If you are caught driving uninsured, you will be charged $150 for the initial month, then $7 per day after that. If you were to provide a false auto insurance card, you could be spending up to a year in jail and/or paying a fine of up to $1,000.

While the state of South Carolina only requires that auto insurers have the 25/50/25 liability coverage, if you are caught driving without auto insurance, the punishment can be strict. Not only are the very hefty fines to be paid but there are also fees to be paid for the reinstatement of your vehicle registration. If you continue to disobey the law, you may be arrested. In addition, once you are caught the first time without insurance, you will have two weeks to provide proof of an auto insurance policy meeting state requirements.

In the state of Texas, you must carry your auto insurance card with you at all times to provide proof of insurance. If you do not have insurance, there are serious fines and penalties. The first offense will carry a fine of somewhere between $175 and $350. Additional offenses will result in further fines of $350 as much as $1,000. In addition, your vehicle is likely to be impounded, and you will be responsible for paying hefty fees to get it out. Furthermore, your driver’s license will be suspended. Now, if you think you can make your own insurance card and pass it off as fake, not so fast; Texas has an insurance database program that verifies auto insurance real-time.